Students recognized at Byron-Bergen High School

By on May 20, 2012

Marcy Bedette, High School Principal Aaron Johnson, and Katherine Merritt join Sarah Donovan and Nicholas Prospero (front), recipients of the School Community Partnership Award in recognition of their contributions to the Byron-Bergen community. Provided photoThe Byron-Bergen High School Collaborative Improvement Team (HSCIT), comprised of teachers, students, community members, and Board of Education representatives, present a “School-Community Partnership Award” to select students each quarter in recognition of their contributions to the Byron-Bergen community. This special award was created in an effort to recognize students who choose to “go the extra mile” in their community, distinguishing them as “Ambassadors” in the school community.

For the third quarter, the HSCIT presented this award to junior Sarah Donovan and senior Nicholas Prospero. Sarah is actively involved in Girl Scouts, and volunteers a great deal of time at the Gillam-Grant Community Center, her church, and the George Eastman House. Nicholas is also involved in the Gillam-Grant Community Center and the S.T.E.P. Boosters. He has served on the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Board and the Strategic Planning Committee. Both students accomplish all of this and more while maintaining good grades and being involved in many extracurricular activities and sports. The students received a certificate, plaque and lunch as part of their recognition. Quarterly nomination forms for this award can be found on the Byron-Bergen website,, and in the high school office.