Hawks tame Attica Bulldogs Silvis, Grillo honored

By on December 30, 2012

by Warren Kozireski

One-by-one several dozen Holley wrestling alumni were introduced, approached the mat and shook hands with longtime head coach John Grillo. Some arrived with family members, some were Grillo family members and two came in uniform. Three-time state champion Quinton Murphy was there on break from his Division I career at Indiana University.

Their weight class may be much different from their days of competition, but their pride was evident in their part in building what has become a dominant, small school wrestling program that can compete with large schools.

And the timing couldn’t have been better for Alumni Night as head coach John Grillo was honored for reaching the 600 career win mark the previous week at the Pioneer Duals.

Senior Mike Silvis was also honored for reaching the 100-career win mark in the same tournament.

The current version of the Hawks then did not disappoint as Andrew Flanagan and Kevin Avery registered falls while six other weight classes were won via forfeit as Holley romped 67-6 over Attica.

Flanagan took just 1:51 to pin his man in the 106 lb. bout before Avery beat the clock getting his fall with just 30 seconds remaining in his 145 lb. match.

Mick Shenck used a reverse and near fall in the final period to turn around a 7-5 decision at 113 lb., Dan Flanagan registered a take down in overtime to win 4-2 at 126 lb., Martin Beadle made his four-point first period stand up in a 4-2 victory at 132 lb. and Sam Beadle took an easy 11-0 win at 138 lb.

Caleb Deip began the match at 160 lb. with a convincing 9-2 decision and Alan White had the most exciting decision getting a reverse with just 12 seconds left to eke out a 14-13 win at 120 lb.

Isaac Miler, Nick Winkley, Ross Pinson, Mike Silvis, Lucas Silvis and Brandon Morrill all won via forfeit for the Hawks.

Grillo, who has coached the past 26 years at Holley, has recorded 12 sectional championships including eight in a row from 2001-2008. He has had four state champions with Murphy taking three and Andrew Grillo the other.