Young Women of Distinction Award finalists announced by Women’s Council

By on April 3, 2017

The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, has announced the 20 finalists for its 18th annual Young Women of Distinction Award.  The scholarship program supports the Women’s Council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.

Modeled after the ATHENA Award, the program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and involvement in the nine-county Rochester and Finger Lakes region.

Four top recipients, one each from the Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west, and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe, receive a $2,000 scholarship and an opportunity for a paid internship at an area company.

Local 2017 Young Women of Distinction Award finalists include: Brooke Fisher, Churchville-Chili; Cassandra Jones, Gates Chili; Paige Koss, Hilton; Elizabeth Piedmont, Batavia; Stephanie Train, Greece Athena.

The Women’s Council will recognize the finalists at a celebration Monday, May 1 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at Ballroom 384 at City Grill.  2017 ATHENA Award recipient Nannette Nocon and 2017 ATHENA Young Professional Award recipient Melisza Campos are scheduled to deliver the keynote address.

For more information on the Young Women of Distinction Award ceremony and tickets, visit or contact Nina Shelton at

Provided information

You must be logged in to post a comment Login