B-B varsity athletes achieve 100 percent Scholar-Athlete Team awards

By on January 14, 2019

Every Byron-Bergen fall varsity sport team has achieved the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Scholar-Athlete Team award. The fall sports teams are cheerleading, boys cross-country, girls cross-country, football, gymnastics, boys soccer, girls soccer, and girls volleyball.

“Here at Byron-Bergen we are always proud of our student athletes and their accomplishments,” said Byron-Bergen Athletic Director Rich Hannan. “This fall we are especially proud that all of our fall teams made the NYS Scholar-Athlete Team award. As Athletic Director, I am extremely blessed to work with such great student athletes and coaches. This particular recognition is a great testament to the student athletes and what it takes to perform at a high level. In and out of the classroom, our kids are getting it done!”

The Scholar-Athlete program recognizes athletes for their academic success. NYSPHSAA Scholar-Athlete Team awards go to teams whose average GPA of 75 percent of the athletic team equals 90 or above.

Scholar-Athlete Team award recipients:

•Cheerleading – Sarah Sue Streeter

•Boys Cross Country – Joshua Fleming, Zachary Hannan, Travis Lambert, Colby Leggo, John Mercovich, Caleb Sharpe, Corden Zimmerman

•Girls Cross Country – Rachel Best, Camryn Brookhart, Dayanara Caballero, Siomara Caballero, Emma Goodman, Sara Goodman, Annaliese Hersom, Cambria Kinkelaar, Alaura Rehwaldt, Grace Shep-ard, Emma Smith

•Football – Alexander Dean, Anthony DiQuattro, Andrew Parnapy

•Gymnastics – Victoria Rogoyski, Emily Salmonds

•Boys Soccer – Nicholas Baubie, Ryan Cooper, Adam Drake, Kyle Foeller, Rick Hubbard, William Johnson, Hunter Leach, Sabastian Pawlukewicz, Wade Thompson, Nathan Zwerka

•Girls Soccer – Julianna Amesbury, Lydia Campbell, Zoey Chambry, Elizabeth Donnelly, Veronica Duell, Kelsey Fuller, Eden Goff, Hope Hersom, Melissa MacCowan, Jillian Menzie, Chloe Shuskey

•Girls Volleyball – Justine Bloom, Hannah Catalino, Madison Farnsworth, Sara Fraser, Amaya Gunther, Janae Meister, Alexandra Vurraro, Annabella Vurraro.

Provided information